RSS Feed

T-shirt Upcycle

Posted on
T-shirt Upcycle

I saw this on Pinterest recently and knew I had to make one. When I first showed the picture to my husband, he kind of turned up his nose, which gave me pause for a moment. But I found myself at a thrift store a few days later and decided to pick up some supplies and give it a whirl anyways. I found a t-shirt for around $1 and a coordinating tie for about $2. The most expensive thing was the button. My husband couldn’t believe it was $4.50! So all said, I got a cute shirt for about $7.50. Not bad, in my book.

First, I took my t-shirt and pinned the tie in place.

The tie was significantly longer than the neckline of my shirt, so I just let the tail hang down low and figured I’d cut it off later.

Then I sewed it into place. Once I decided I was happy with the placement and ruffles, etc., I cut off the excess length and zig-zagged the raw edge.

Now it was time to attach the button.

After seeing it on, my husband decided he likes it. Yay! I might just have to hit up the thrift store for some more shirts and ties. This was so easy and fun to do, and I loved the way it turned out!

About Amy

I'm a stay-at-home-mom to Nico (4) and Cordelia (1).

One response »

  1. I saw this same picture on pinterest! I think it’s goregeous

    Reply

Leave a Reply

